Exploring America Set


Designed to be easy-to-use for parent and student, each of the 30 weekly units in Exploring America has an introduction that features a summary of the material covered, a list of lessons, books required for that unit, and suggested writing assignments. Each of the 150 daily lessons (five lessons per week) includes the history text and the reading assignments for that day (and those in progress). A focused student can direct his own study, and the parent can offer as much interaction as needed. Depending on how fast your child reads and how much time he spends on the weekly project, he may need an average of 2-3 hours for each daily lesson.

Exploring America presents history from the perspective of faith in God and respect for His Word. Each unit includes a Bible study highlighting spiritual issues related to history. It is comprehensive, giving students a survey of events and issues from European exploration to the war on terror, with extensive coverage of the twentieth century. The Exploring America Curriculum Package includes three books:
Part 1: Columbus through Reconstruction (first semester)
Part 2: Late 1800s through the Present (second semester)
American Voices: A Collection of Documents, Speeches, Essays, Hymns, Poems, and Short Stories from American History (assigned readings)

Completing the full course provides your child with a year's high school credit in American History, English (literature and composition), and Bible. The History credit involves reading the lessons and the original documents and speeches (and answering the questions in the optional Quiz & Exam Pack if desired). The English credit involves completing the weekly writing assignments and one research paper; and reading the assigned literature, poems, and short stories in American Voices. The Bible credit involves reading the Bible lessons, completing the Bible assignments at the end of many lessons, and reading the hymns and other religious literature assigned.

Literature titles to accompany this curriculum are:
The Scarlet Letter - Hawthorne
King of the Wild Frontier: An Autobiography of Davy Crockett
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass - Douglass
Uncle Tom's Cabin - Stowe
Co. Aytch - Watkins
Humorous Stories and Sketches - Twain
In His Steps - Sheldon
Up From Slavery - Washington
Mama's Bank Account - Forbes
Miracle in the Hills - Blythe
To Kill a Mockingbird - Lee
The Giver - Lowry

Each of the 3 books in this set can be purchased separately. Purchase the set and SAVE.

Add to Cart:

  • Model: 2895
  • Author: Notgrass, Ray
  • Format: Hardback
  • Specs: 3 books
  • Publisher: Notgrass Company
  • Grade: 9th - 12th

Copyright © 2022 Heppner's Legacy Homeschool Resources. Powered by Zen Cart
Developed by Dogsoldier.com, LLC
All Rights Reserved