Fiddler's Secret


In the dark of night Libby Norstad wakes up. It's quiet. Too quiet. Then come the rapid strokes of the ship's bell. What's wrong? What happened? Where's Pa? Hurrying out into the dense fog on deck, Libby hears the slap of paddlewheels against water. The whistle of a steamboat coming too fast, too close. Grabbing Annika's arm, Libby yanks her away from the railing. Run! But soon, out of the dark and danger come the high notes of a gifted fiddler. Who is he? Where is he from? Why does his face seem to hold a secret?

As Annika joins the teaching in the Christina's classroom, Captain Norstad asks Libby, Caleb, Jordan, and Peter, "What is most important to you? What do you really want?" Though Jordan finds new, exciting possibilities for his family's freedom in Minnesota Territory, he and Peter also face mystery and hardship. When winter draws near, Pa needs to head south, but Annika stays in St. Paul. Will she be lost to the never-give-up family forever? Can the Christina possibly escape a winter ice storm? And what is the fiddler's challenge for Freedom Seekers of every place and time?

In The Fiddler's Secret, the sixth and final novel in the Freedom Seekers series (Previously published as the Riverboat Adventures Series.), as well as other titles in the collection, Lois Walfrid Johnson combines high story interest with truth that offers life to readers of every age.

Includes a study guide and educator helps.

Add to Cart:

  • Model: 4264
  • Author: Johnson, Lois Walfrid
  • Format: Paperback
  • Specs: 264 pages
  • Publisher: Moody Press
  • Grade: 3rd - 7th

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Copyright © 2021 Heppner's Legacy Homeschool Resources. Powered by Zen Cart
Developed by, LLC
All Rights Reserved